About IBS

The Institute of Biological Sciences (IBS) was created on March 23, 1983, by virtue of Executive Order 889, which established a system of national centers of excellence in the basic sciences. It was organized from the existing staff of the former Departments of Botany, Life Sciences and Zoology.

Since it began its operation on December 1, 1983, the IBS has grown and become more mature, continuing its full support for instruction, research and extension for a nationwide and even international clientele.  Today it holds the distinction of handling the largest number of courses and students in the University. In recognition of its leading role, the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) confirmed its status as a Center of Excellence in Biology in 1999.

Through the leaderships notable directors, and more than 30 years of existence, IBS has found its rightful place in the scientific community, attaining a position of acknowledged leadership in instruction and research among the national centers of excellence in the basic sciences.




  "To become a leading center for teaching, research and extension in biology in the Asian Region."


 "Academic excellence in biology with relevance to present day needs for national economic development, productive ecosystems and improvement of human conditions."
 As an academic and research unit of the University, its mandate is to :
  1. support and undertake interdisciplinary basic research relevant to efficient management of natural resources;
  2. conduct basic studies to promote the advancement of biological knowledge in a tropical environment;
  3. continuously strive to upgrade and improve its undergraduate and graduate academic programs to make them relevant to current biological realities; and
  4. extend research results and facilitate information exchange through the mass media and interpersonal means, as well as upgrade biology teaching in the nation’s educational system.


 Organizational Set-up

 To keep up its thrust, the IBS is organized into five (5) highly specialized teaching and research divisions, namely:
 1. Animal Biology
 2. Environmental Biology
 3. Genetics and Molecular Biology
 4. Microbiology
 5. Plant Biology
These divisions are complemented by the facilities and support staff of the Limnological Station (located at Mayondon, Los Banos, Laguna), the UPLB Museum of Natural History (located at the College of Forestry), U.P. Open University, BIOTECH, NCPC, IPB and IRRI.
Members of the Executive Committee (2018 to present)
Merlyn S. Mendioro, Ph.D.
Lucille C. Villegs, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
Heads of Divisions
Victor S. Ticzon, Ph.D.
Animal Biology
Ireneo L. Lit, Jr., Ph.D.
Environmental Biology
Ma. Carmina C. Manuel, Ph.D.
Genetics and Molecular Biology
Nacita B. Lantican, Ph.D.
Inocencio E. Buot, Ph.D.
Plant Biology
Ma. Vivian dC. Camacho, Ph.D.
Station Manager
UPLB Limnological Station